Skip to main content

The Hawksmoor Board

Non-Executive Directors

Anthony Deacon – Interim Chairman

As a partner of a predecessor firm, Anthony gained extensive experience of private client law and finance and subsequently established and remains a non–executive director of Hine Downing Financial Services, a solicitor owned independent Financial Advisory Company.
A solicitor specialising in tax, trusts and succession planning, he is a member of Hine Downing LLP and the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners (STEP) with additional experience of governance in the not for profit sector.

David Kempton

David is a Director of Neptune-Calculus VCT, Impax Ireland and a number of private companies including EGS-Energy, a deep geothermal energy company and Forrest, a major provincial UK recruitment company.
Previously a Director of Impax Group and a number of UK quoted investment trusts.
An engineer by training, David has founded and successfully sold a number of businesses.

Brian Ashford-Russell

Brian is co-founder and a Non-Executive Director of Polar Capital Holdings Ltd. He was also the manager of the Polar Capital Technology Trust. Previously he was head of the technology team at Henderson Global Investors.

John Crowley

John founded Hawksmoor in 2007 and was its Chief Executive until the start of 2020. Previously, he was one of the founders of iimia (now part of Premier Miton), which began as the hived-off investment business John had started with Foot Anstey after he qualified with that firm as a solicitor. Before moving to Devon in 1993, John spent most of his earlier career in the City as an institutional equity salesman and investment analyst with Schroders, Chase Manhattan and Den Norske Bank.

Executive Directors

Sarah Soar – Chief Executive


James Gaisford – Finance Director


Ben Conway – Head of Fund Management

Newsletter sign up

Sign up here to receive our news, research items or market updates.

Sign up now


Back to Top